Terry Reid – The Other Side Of The River

TerryReid

British musician Terry Reid is a relatively unsung legend. With his incredible voice (that earned him the nickname “Superlungs”), spot-on songwriting, and underrated guitar skills, Reid invented new sounds and others followed suit. His 1973 LP, River, is an under-the-radar but deeply loved album. Our special new release, The Other Side Of The River, features all previously unreleased material from the River sessions, including six never-before-heard Reid compositions and five very different alternate takes of tracks from River.

The Other Side Of The River includes songs that even Terry had forgotten – rockers in the style of the River track “Dean,” Latin grooves with percussionist Willie Bobo, and beautifully sparse vocal material not unlike David Crosby’s If Only I Could Remember My Name and John Martyn’s Solid Air.

Reid’s vocal prowess earned him offers to front both Led Zeppelin and Deep Purple, but he turned down both opportunities to carve out a distinctive solo career. He rocked on the sidelines, ultimately touring with Cream and Fleetwood Mac, writing songs for CSNY, and opening for The Rolling Stones on their 1969 tour. More recently, Terry’s songs have been covered by a number of younger artists including The Raconteurs, and his voice can be heard on DJ Shadow’s track “Listen.” Though his “superlungs” would have no doubt served Zepp well, perhaps his solo status allowed him to be more experimental and nuanced than he would’ve been able to be as a mainstream frontman, and for that we are grateful. We believe The Other Side Of The River stands alone as a fresh and utterly groundbreaking Terry Reid gem and we are so excited for you to hear it.

The Other Side Of The River is now up for preorder here and will be available for purchase ____.

And if that’s not enough, this spring Mr. Reid will be touring the East Coast and UK! Full tour dates below.

Listen to a previously unreleased alternate take of “River” in the video below.

 

Full Tour Dates

USA:

Thur 21st April – The Cutting Room, NYC

Friday 22nd April – Harrisburg Theatre, PA

Sat 23rd April – The Falcon, Marlboro, NY

UK:

Wed 4th May – The Black Box, Belfast (IRL)

Thur 5th May – Coughlans Bar, Cork (IRL)

Fri 6th May – Roisin Bar, Galway (IRL)

Sat 7th May – Dublin, Ireland (IRL)

Sun 8th May – Springhill Bar, Portrush (IRL)

Thur 12th May – Under The Bridge, London (Chelsea FC)

Wed 18th May – Cluny 2, Newcastle (UK)

Thurs 19th May – Admiral Bar – Glasgow (SCOT)

Fri 20th May – TBA (SCOT)

Sun 22th May, The Portland, Cambridge (UK)

Sun 23rd May, The Flower Pot, Derby NOT CONFIRMED

Thur 26th May – Portsmouth Guildhall (Live Lounge) (UK)

Sat 28th May – The Robin2, Wolverhampton (UK)

Wed 1st June – The Tivoli Theatre, Wimbourne Minster (UK)